Acts of Service Love Language: 6 Things to Know

Acts of Service Love Language: 6 Things to Know

Do you know your partner’s love language? Do you know your own?

A love language is a primary method that you and your partner communicate your love for one another, and it’s important to the success of your relationship to identify your primary love languages.

This article will focus on six things you need to know to communicate love to your partner through the acts of service love language. Keep reading to learn more.

1. What is Acts of Service Love Language?

Most people attempt to love their partner in the way they want to receive love. Unfortunately, this can cause conflict in the relationship if the partner doesn’t have the same love language. There are five primary love languages:

Quality Time Love Language

Probably the most easily understood love language, those whose primary language is quality time want to simply spend time with their partner.

Words of Affirmation Love Language

Those who value words of affirmation need to feel appreciated, and they need their partner to communicate that appreciation through words.

Physical Touch Love Language

While most people immediately think sex, don’t. Those that need physical touch also need to receive those touches in non-sexual ways.

Gifts Love Language

Gifts don’t have to be large or expensive, a simple flower clipped from the backyard given in genuine thoughtfulness will be well-received from the partner who values gifts.

Acts of Service Love Language

This love language is probably the most difficult to communicate in as thoughts are expected to become tangible acts in order to be recognized and appreciated. Those whose primary love language is acts of service feel most loved when they know their partner is a team player, willing to do their part for the good of the team.

2. Identify the Acts of Service Love Language

How do you know if your partner values acts of service above all else? One tell-tale sign is that your partner performs acts of service for you. Another way to identify your own love language and your partner’s love language is to take this free quiz.

3. Show Gratitude

A partner who values acts of service will often attempt to show their love for you by performing acts of service. When your partner fills your car with gas or helps clean the kitchen after dinner, be sure to thank them. It’s easy to overlook these simple tasks as necessary, but to your partner, they are an expression of their love and care for you.

4. Keep Your Word

The fastest way to break trust in a relationship with a partner whose love language is acts of service is to not follow through on a commitment. Your partner needs to know they can trust you and depend on you.

5. Long Distance Ideas

When you must be separated from your partner, there are several things you can do to keep your partner feeling the love. Before the trip, ask what you can do for them, and do it. Help pack their suitcase, and maybe even toss in something to remind them of you from Pure Romance. While they’re gone, take care of any tasks that will make their lives easier when they return home.

6. Acts of Service Love Language Examples

While this love language can often be misunderstood, there are many ways to communicate through acts of service to your partner.

  • Pack their lunch
  • Cook dinner/Bring home takeout
  • Do their laundry
  • Help with their regular chores
  • Fill up their car with gas
  • Wash their car
  • Make breakfast
  • Make coffee or their favorite drink

Actions Speak Louder Than Words

For those who speak the acts of service love language, the old cliche rings true. Actions speak louder than words, and by making the effort to do a few things that are important to your partner you can make them feel loved.

If you enjoyed this article, be sure to check out more related articles here on the blog.

Recommended Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.